Tenth Ordinary General Assembly - The Bishop: Servant of the Gospel of Jesus Christ for the Hope of the World (30 September - 27 October 2001)

Print Mail Pdf

Tenth Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops

In Session: 30 September - 27 October 2001

Synod Fathers: 247

Topic: “The Bishop: Servant of the Gospel of Jesus Christ for the Hope of the World”

In preparation for the Tenth Ordinary General Assembly, the Ninth Ordinary Council of the General Secretariat, in a series of periodic meetings assisted in the consultation process to determine the Synodal topic and collaborated in the composition of the Lineamenta which was sent on 16 June 1998 to the bishops throughout the world and those customarily contacted for official responses. The responses were subsequently analyzed and included in the Council’s work of drafting the Instrumentum laboris which was released on 1 June 2001.

During the synodal assembly the Synod Fathers focused on the person and role of the bishop in his diocese at the beginning of the Third Millennium.

On 26 October 2001, the synodal assembly elected members to the Tenth Ordinary Council of the General Secretariat to which the Holy Father appointed three members. In subsequent meetings, this Council analyzed the material which came from the synod process, especially the synod’s Propositiones, so as to offer assistance to the Holy Father in his drafting the Post-Synodal Apostolic Exhortation “Pastores Gregis, promulgated 16 October 2003, in conjunction with the 25th Anniversary of the Holy Father’s election.



S.Em.R. il Sig. Card. Giovanni Battista Re, Prefetto della Congregazione per i Vescovi (Vaticano)
S.Em.R. il Sig. Card. Bernard Agré, Arcivescovo di Abidjan (Costa d’Avorio)
S.Em.R. il Sig. Card. Ivan Dias, Arcivescovo di Bombay (India)

General Secretary

S.Em.R. il Sig. Card. Jan Pieter Schotte, C.I.C.M. (Vaticano)

General Rapporteur

S.Em.R. il Sig. Card. Edward Michael Egan, Arcivescovo di New York (USA)

Adjunct General Rapporteur

S.Em.R. il Sig. Card. Jorge Mario Bergoglio, S.I., Arcivescovo di Buenos Aires (Argentina)

Special Secretary 

S.E.R. Mons. Marcello Semeraro, Vescovo di Oria (Italia)






Documents of the Tenth Ordinary General Assembly